Galena Park ISD Selected 2017 Honor School Board

Houston, Texas: The Galena Park ISD Board of Trustees is one of five school boards from across Texas selected as Honor School Boards as part of the 2017 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Lancaster ISD superintendent Michael McFarland, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2016. The selection committee’s decisions were based on specific criteria, including support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

“Galena Park ISD has established a culture of excellence and an expectation of success,” said McFarland. “The board has been proactive, communicated effectively, planned strategically, and has modeled its vision of Excellence in All, for All, by All. For that, we are proud to select the GPISD board as one of the five Texas Honor Boards.”

The GPISD Board of Trustees was nominated for the award by Superintendent Angi Williams. “I bear witness daily to this group of unselfish volunteers from the Galena Park ISD community, who give of their time and talents to collaboratively support the student, parent and taxpayer stakeholders they were elected to serve,” said Williams. “I am proud of our board of trustees for their dedication to understanding governance and their willingness to lead.”

The GPISD and other four Honor Boards: Coahoma, Hardin-Jefferson, Mansfield and Royse City ISDs are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2017 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas, and then one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s first general session at 4 p.m., Oct. 6. The other Honor Boards, as well as 11 regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first. The program is facilitated by TASA, the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.


GPISD School Board

Pictured: Ramon Garza, Board Trustee; Minnie Rivera, Secretary; Jeff Miller, President; Dr. Angi Williams, Superintendent of Schools; Wanda Heath Johnson,Vice President;
Dawn Fisher, Board Trustee; Wilfred J. Broussard, Jr., Board Trustee; Joe Stephens, Board Trustee





Media Contact:

Terri Moore | Assistant Superintendent for Communication Services and Professional Development | | 832.386.1231