Galena Park ISD Board of Trustees Named Region IV School Board of the Year

Houston, Texas: Galena Park Independent School District is proud to announce the 2016-2017 school board has been chosen by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) as Region 4 School Board of the Year! The board is now a finalist for Texas School Board of the Year.

The seven board of trustees, along with our superintendent, are best known as the Team of Eight. Under their direction, a $290 million bond referendum was passed in 2016 with 73 percent of the community supporting the bond. The board approved the reconstruction and updates of 24 campuses and nine facilities. This includes rebuilding six elementary campuses, building North Shore Senior High 10th Grade Center, renovating and updating all other campuses and facilities and land acquisition for future facility needs.

The Team of Eight have been the leaders of Galena Park ISD. None of our successes would be possible without the encouragement we receive from our Board.
The Galena Park ISD Board of Trustees are Jeff Miller, Wanda Heath Johnson, Minnie Rivera, Dawn Fisher, Joe Stephens, Ramon Garza and Wilfred J. Broussard, Jr.

The TASA selection committee will now review all of the finalists and the top 5 in the state will be announced on August 8. The top 5 boards will then be interviewed for the title of Texas School Board of the Year. The winning school board will be announced at the TASA/ TASB Convention in October.


GPISD School Board

First Row: Wanda Heath Johnson,Vice President; Wilfred J. Broussard, Jr., Board Trustee; Jeff Miller, President

Second Row: Ramon Garza, Board Trustee; Dawn Fisher, Board Trustee; Dr. Angi Williams, Superintendent of Schools; Minnie Rivera, Secretary; Joe Stephens, Board Trustee





Media Contact:

Terri Moore | Assistant Superintendent for Communication Services and Professional Development | | 832.386.1231